Egg Break Review – Stick to Breakfast!

Egg Break Review

Our Rating

I had been drooling over pictures of some eggy dishes from Egg Break, a new restaurant occupying a space that belonged previously to Thai Break in Kensington/Notting Hill Gate. (The new owners just had to cross out Thai and replace by Egg which was  a witty touch.)

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – Fun play on the name

Most of the pictures I had seen were from their breakfast and lunch menus, as up until recently, they closed at 7pm which made it a bit of a challenge for us to visit during the week, and we have also been travelling a lot on weekends.

When they announced that they were extending the opening hours to 10pm, we met there one night after work. What we had not realized was how limited their dinner menu is, and even though an egg-centric spot makes much sense at breakfast and lunchtime, it is slightly more restrictive for dinner.

Their offer amounts to six kinds of sandwich, that all include eggs, even when not specified, along with breakfast style side dishes, such as avocado, bacon, etc.

Egg Break Dinner Menu

Egg Break Dinner Menu

What we ate:

Folded egg, sweet corn salsa, red cabbage and sour cream sandwich: a thin omelette folded between burger buns and topped with some salsa and an excess of scallions. It was fine, but it could have done with some cheese or something else to make it just a little more interesting. We actually asked if they had any cheese and the only option was a smoked italian cheese, which didn’t seem like an ideal pairing.

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – Folded egg, sweet corn salsa, red cabbage and sour cream sandwich

Pork belly, fennel sausage, siracha mayo and rocket sandwich: this was Stewart’s perfect sandwich – a pork overdose – but it was a bit too salty for my taste.

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – Pork belly, fennel sausage, siracha mayo and rocket sandwich

Hash browns: they didn’t look like the classic kind of hash brown and were more like little nibbles of warm and tasty shredded potatoes. Surprisingly delicious, and piping hot from the frier.

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – tasty but not your typical hash browns

Roasted mushrooms: a nice assortment of mixed mushrooms, but it was served luke warm sadly, so it had to be returned to the kitchen for some extra heating. Wish they had also added some seasoning when it went back to the kitchen….

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – mixed mushrooms side dish

Baked salted caramel custard, crème fraîche:  I am a chocolate girl, but on this occasion, I ended up eating a lot more of the custard, as it had a creamy and interesting texture, and the large sprinkles of sea salt on top of the crème fraîche offset some of the sweetness and made it even more interesting. I was hoping that it would be as good as the one at Gjelina in Los Angeles (one of my favourite spots) but didn’t quite reach those lofty heights.

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – Baked salted caramel custard, crème fraishe

Chocolate tart, charred marshmallows: I had seen pictures of this tart, and it looked gooey and delicious. Those pictures were probably taken in the daytime. (If I ever opened a restaurant, I would make sure to have the perfect lighting for food nerds like me that keep snapping shots of their eats.) The chocolate part of the tart was overly solid and the marshmallow was so charred that it made the entire dessert taste burned.

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – Chocolate tart with overly charred marshmallows

In sum: don’t go for dinner. The ambiance would be cute for other meals, but it is anticlimatic in the evening and slighly sad. The service was ok, the menu too limited and none of the dishes really impressed us.

Egg Break http://www.eggbreak.com/
30 Uxbridge St, London W8 7TA

[mappress “width=99%” mapid=”201″]

Egg Break Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
Square Meal

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – downstairs seating area

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – upstairs seating area

Egg Break Review

Egg Break Review – upstairs seating area

The Breakdown

15 Comments

  • Reply October 5, 2015

    Lesley Pittaway

    I walk past this place every Monday on my way to quiz night! I never thought to give it a go.

    • Reply October 5, 2015

      Sam

      I would stop for breakfast or brunch but dinner didn’t impress. Quiz night!!!! Where?

      • Reply October 11, 2015

        Lesley Pittaway

        The Hillgate! You and Stewart should come one Monday. It is really fun, even if we are really not very good…

  • Reply June 22, 2022

    kyrie 7

    I am glad for commenting to let you be aware of what a extraordinary encounter my wife’s daughter had visiting your web site. She mastered a lot of details, which included how it is like to have an ideal helping nature to get other folks effortlessly fully grasp a variety of very confusing topics. You truly surpassed people’s expected results. Many thanks for presenting such informative, dependable, explanatory and cool thoughts on that topic to Julie.

  • Reply June 22, 2022

    yeezy

    I would like to show some thanks to this writer for bailing me out of this particular scenario. Just after exploring through the the web and getting notions which are not pleasant, I believed my life was gone. Being alive devoid of the answers to the issues you’ve resolved as a result of your website is a crucial case, and the kind that might have badly damaged my entire career if I had not come across the blog. Your main talents and kindness in playing with all the details was very helpful. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. I am able to at this moment relish my future. Thank you so much for your expert and amazing help. I won’t be reluctant to suggest the blog to anybody who desires recommendations on this subject.

  • Reply June 22, 2022

    kawhi leonard shoes

    I would like to show my appreciation to you for rescuing me from this circumstance. As a result of looking out throughout the search engines and getting advice which are not beneficial, I was thinking my life was done. Living without the strategies to the issues you have resolved all through this article content is a serious case, as well as the kind that might have negatively affected my entire career if I hadn’t discovered your web blog. That mastery and kindness in maneuvering a lot of things was useful. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had not come upon such a solution like this. It’s possible to at this moment look forward to my future. Thanks a lot very much for the high quality and effective help. I won’t hesitate to endorse the website to anybody who ought to have guidelines about this area.

  • Reply June 24, 2022

    pg 1

    Thank you so much for giving everyone remarkably memorable opportunity to discover important secrets from this blog. It is always very excellent and also packed with a great time for me personally and my office mates to visit your blog a minimum of 3 times in one week to see the fresh stuff you have. And definitely, I am just usually motivated for the brilliant tips and hints served by you. Some 2 tips on this page are really the very best we have all ever had.

  • Reply June 24, 2022

    curry shoes

    I must express my thanks to you just for rescuing me from this trouble. Because of browsing throughout the the web and coming across things which were not helpful, I was thinking my life was done. Living without the presence of solutions to the issues you’ve solved all through the guide is a serious case, as well as those which may have in a negative way affected my career if I had not noticed your site. Your actual competence and kindness in taking care of all areas was very helpful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come upon such a solution like this. I am able to at this time relish my future. Thank you very much for your professional and result oriented help. I will not think twice to refer your site to anyone who should receive tips on this subject.

  • Reply June 24, 2022

    moncler jacket

    Thanks for your own effort on this web page. My mom takes pleasure in participating in investigation and it’s easy to understand why. Most of us hear all about the compelling manner you create rewarding things via the blog and even encourage participation from the others on that concern then our simple princess is now discovering a great deal. Take pleasure in the remaining portion of the new year. Your performing a good job.

  • Reply June 24, 2022

    golden goose

    I want to voice my affection for your generosity for persons who absolutely need help on this particular theme. Your real commitment to passing the message all-around became especially invaluable and has usually made many people much like me to reach their objectives. Your own valuable tips and hints can mean so much to me and somewhat more to my office workers. Thanks a ton; from all of us.

  • Reply June 28, 2022

    kd 12

    I’m just writing to let you understand of the cool encounter my wife’s girl went through visiting your web site. She figured out a wide variety of details, not to mention what it’s like to possess a great teaching mood to get other folks smoothly grasp specified multifaceted subject areas. You really surpassed our own expected results. Many thanks for producing the informative, trusted, edifying and cool guidance on your topic to Gloria.

  • Reply June 29, 2022

    yeezy shoes

    Thank you so much for providing individuals with an extremely memorable opportunity to read in detail from this blog. It is often very superb plus full of a lot of fun for me and my office colleagues to visit your web site at the very least 3 times in a week to find out the new things you will have. And lastly, I’m so certainly fascinated with your very good principles you give. Selected two points in this posting are unquestionably the most beneficial we have ever had.

  • Reply June 29, 2022

    jordan shoes

    I precisely desired to thank you very much once again. I am not sure the things I would have sorted out in the absence of the entire opinions provided by you concerning such a area of interest. It was a very frightful issue in my opinion, nevertheless looking at this well-written style you managed it took me to weep with gladness. I am grateful for this information and as well , pray you recognize what an amazing job you happen to be providing educating others via a web site. Most probably you have never encountered any of us.

  • Reply July 1, 2022

    curry 6

    My wife and i got now contented when Edward managed to finish off his research via the ideas he obtained from your very own web page. It’s not at all simplistic to just choose to be handing out strategies others may have been trying to sell. And now we do understand we now have the website owner to give thanks to because of that. The specific explanations you have made, the easy website menu, the relationships you help to engender – it’s got most wonderful, and it is facilitating our son in addition to our family imagine that this subject is satisfying, which is wonderfully essential. Many thanks for the whole lot!

  • Reply July 1, 2022

    curry 6 shoes

    My spouse and i have been really fulfilled that Albert managed to finish up his research because of the ideas he grabbed from your weblog. It is now and again perplexing just to be giving freely techniques that people have been selling. And we all see we need the blog owner to be grateful to for that. The most important explanations you made, the easy blog navigation, the friendships you assist to foster – it’s got everything awesome, and it’s really helping our son and us reason why this situation is fun, and that is pretty mandatory. Thanks for the whole lot!

Leave a Reply