Best Greek in London: Estatorio Milos Review

Estatorio Milos London Review

Our Rating

When I was at Milos in New York with my friend Kay, the manager told us they would be opening a restaurant in London within a couple of months. We eagerly awaited the Milos London opening and as soon as they started serving lunch service, I suggested it for a work meal.

I often used to go to Milos in Las Vegas for Lunch, as they had a fantastic deal for three courses for around $25. I was wondering if they would have a similarly good deal in London, and was very pleasantly surprised to see the menu for £29. I was also happy that they served several of the same dishes such as the octopus starter and dorade main.

You enter the restaurant through a massive, gorgeous and grandiose wooden door. The restaurant is all white and marble, with high ceilings from what was originally British Columbia House on Regent Street.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Entrance at Estatorio Milos London

Estatorio Milos London Review

Beautiful dining area at Estatorio Milos London

What we ate:

We started with some crusty grilled bread with Greek olive oil and fresh oregano snipped from the branch at the table.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Grilled bread with olive oils and fresh oregano



Fried calamari: we ordered a portion for the table. I am usually not into fried foods, but these were the best fried calamari I’ve had recently, maybe even ever. They were lightly coated in batter, were very tender and were served piping hot, and deep the frying seemed remarkably light.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Fried calamari at Estatorio Milos London

Stuffed calamari: another dish we ordered to share. One massive squid, stuffed with three Greek cheeses. They serve it with a very sharp knife. That is the only way to slice it, but like the fried version, they worked their magic, and it was not rubbery at all and had the perfect texture with nice grilling marks – a very good dish.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Grilled and stuffed squid at Estatorio Milos London

Salmon tartare: a nicely executed dish with beautiful cubes of salmon, slightly tossed in dressing with fresno chilies, shallots and coriander.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Salmon tartare at Estatorio Milos London

Greek salad: it seems boring to order Greek salad, as it’s not very creative or unique but their version is as good as it gets. The tomatoes are plump and ripe, and the feta is tangy and delicious, and everything gets tossed in a light vinaigrette.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Greek salad at Estatorio Milos London

Grilled octopus: morsels of perfectly cooked octopus that was seared and crisp on the outside, tender and white on the inside.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Grilled octopus at Estatorio Milos London

Grilled dorade (aka bream): a very generous portion of well-cooked white and flaky grilled fish with just a drizzle of olive oil, served with two broccoli and cauliflower flowerets. Healthy and tasty, with only the issue is there are quite a few tiny bones.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Grilled dorade at Estatorio Milos London

Walnut cake: reminds me of the Brazilian wedding cakes as it is one of the most traditional flavours at home. The only difference is that this one has orange and spices, versus the Brazilian version which has a layer of baba de moça (young lady drooling when you translate it…), an egg yolk, coconut milk and sugar filling.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Walnut cake at Estatorio Milos

Yoghurt parfait: a simple but creamy Greek yoghurt with a berry purée.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Fruit platter: once again, simple but beautiful and ripe fruits.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Fresh fruit at Estatorio Milos

Home-made Baklava ice cream: I had this in New York, and it was so good that I had to order some for everyone to try. It was just as good as I remembered and filled with crunchy bites of filo, almonds and tasty cinnamon.

Estatorio Milos London Review

Baklava ice cream at Estatorio Milos London

In sum: tasty; a great deal for the lunch menu; a perfect place for a business lunch. It gets a lot more expensive from the à la carte menu. (The beautiful carabinieros, or gorgeous massive shrimps that we were tempted by were £140/kg.) The ambiance is better for lunch, with the natural light filling the all-white décor. Service was slow, but they are probably getting it together, as they only just recently opened. And Assunta Madre also serves fresh fish in London but I prefer Estatorio Milos as the food is tastier and the setting is lovely.

Milos London http://milos.ca/restaurants/london

1 Regent St
London SW1Y 4NR
[mappress “width=99%” mapid=”203″]

Estiatorio Milos Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Square Meal

Dishes I didn’t try but my colleagues ordered…

Estatorio Milos London Review

Tuna Burger at Estatorio Milos London

Estatorio Milos London Review

Lobster pasta at Estatorio Milos London

 

 

The Breakdown

13 Comments

  • Reply October 11, 2015

    Lesley Pittaway

    Another one to add to the list. It doesn’t seem to be getting any shorter!

  • Reply January 27, 2016

    assunta madre review

    […] would be an italian seafood spot like his! For fresh seafood and a brighter ambiance I would go to Milos […]

  • Reply June 18, 2022

    jordan 1

    I am just writing to make you be aware of of the helpful discovery my friend’s child enjoyed reading through your web page. She learned a wide variety of details, including how it is like to possess an ideal giving mindset to let other people clearly understand various extremely tough subject matter. You actually did more than people’s desires. Many thanks for churning out such useful, healthy, educational and also fun tips about the topic to Lizeth.

  • Reply June 18, 2022

    bape

    I in addition to my buddies have been analyzing the best thoughts on your website then quickly developed a terrible suspicion I had not thanked the blog owner for those tips. These people happened to be certainly stimulated to see them and have undoubtedly been enjoying them. Appreciate your being so helpful and for getting such helpful guides most people are really eager to be informed on. My very own sincere apologies for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  • Reply June 20, 2022

    yeezy

    I wish to point out my admiration for your generosity giving support to persons who really want help with in this niche. Your very own commitment to getting the message across was remarkably powerful and has consistently made guys and women much like me to get to their pursuits. Your amazing valuable recommendations indicates much a person like me and even more to my peers. Thanks a ton; from all of us.

  • Reply June 20, 2022

    off white hoodie

    I intended to send you a little remark to be able to thank you very much as before relating to the extraordinary thoughts you have featured in this case. It has been really wonderfully generous of people like you to give freely just what a lot of people could have made available as an e-book in order to make some bucks on their own, even more so considering that you could possibly have tried it in the event you wanted. Those tactics in addition acted like the fantastic way to fully grasp some people have the identical passion much like mine to grasp much more related to this matter. I’m certain there are many more pleasant situations in the future for many who looked over your blog post.

  • Reply June 20, 2022

    curry shoes

    I wanted to post you a very small note to finally thank you so much yet again on your exceptional basics you’ve contributed on this website. This is so seriously open-handed of you to make unreservedly what exactly a number of us would’ve marketed for an e book to earn some dough for themselves, principally now that you might well have done it if you ever desired. Those good tips in addition acted as a fantastic way to know that some people have the identical fervor just like mine to know the truth great deal more pertaining to this problem. I am sure there are millions of more fun opportunities ahead for individuals that looked over your website.

  • Reply June 22, 2022

    off white hoodie

    I am just commenting to let you know what a fantastic encounter my wife’s daughter had studying your blog. She came to find so many issues, not to mention how it is like to have an amazing teaching character to let a number of people just grasp a number of specialized topics. You undoubtedly did more than readers’ expected results. I appreciate you for coming up with those warm and friendly, trusted, informative as well as unique tips on this topic to Lizeth.

  • Reply June 22, 2022

    curry 6 shoes

    I would like to express my thanks to the writer just for rescuing me from such a circumstance. Because of surfing around through the the net and coming across things that were not helpful, I was thinking my life was gone. Existing devoid of the approaches to the difficulties you have sorted out as a result of this posting is a serious case, and ones that might have badly affected my entire career if I had not encountered your blog. The know-how and kindness in dealing with all the pieces was useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t encountered such a point like this. I’m able to at this moment look forward to my future. Thank you very much for this professional and results-oriented guide. I will not hesitate to propose your blog post to anybody who wants and needs assistance on this issue.

  • My husband and i got quite cheerful that Jordan managed to round up his preliminary research using the ideas he was given in your blog. It is now and again perplexing to simply possibly be freely giving facts that many the rest might have been trying to sell. And now we do know we need the writer to appreciate for this. The explanations you’ve made, the easy blog menu, the relationships you will make it possible to foster – it’s got everything amazing, and it’s aiding our son in addition to the family do think this matter is fun, which is particularly fundamental. Thanks for the whole thing!

  • Reply June 25, 2022

    kyrie 5

    I simply desired to say thanks yet again. I do not know what I might have created in the absence of those solutions revealed by you relating to such a area of interest. It absolutely was a very frustrating problem in my circumstances, nevertheless noticing this professional technique you managed it took me to jump with contentment. Now i am happy for the assistance and as well , trust you realize what a great job you have been providing teaching most people using your web site. More than likely you haven’t come across any of us.

  • I want to express some appreciation to this writer for rescuing me from such a scenario. After checking through the internet and obtaining suggestions that were not beneficial, I figured my life was gone. Being alive minus the strategies to the issues you’ve sorted out by means of your good report is a critical case, as well as the kind which could have in a wrong way affected my career if I had not discovered your site. Your actual natural talent and kindness in dealing with all things was important. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not discovered such a step like this. I can also at this point look ahead to my future. Thanks very much for this specialized and amazing guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your web blog to any person who would like guidelines about this situation.

  • Reply June 30, 2022

    kyrie 6 shoes

    I intended to compose you this bit of note to finally thank you as before regarding the pleasing concepts you have discussed here. It has been simply extremely generous of people like you to deliver unhampered all that a lot of folks would’ve advertised for an electronic book to make some money for themselves, mostly given that you might well have done it in the event you wanted. These concepts likewise worked like the good way to comprehend some people have the same eagerness like my personal own to know way more with regards to this matter. I am sure there are many more enjoyable situations up front for folks who read your site.

Leave a Reply