L’Enclume Review

L'Enclume Review

Our Rating

As soon as we decided to head to the Lake District to celebrate Stewart’s birthday I booked the Drunken Duck and L’Enclume. Stewart prefers his holidays to be around hiking and outdoors and I clearly prefer them to be around food (maybe some shopping…).  And since the weekend was about HIM and what HE loves, I felt guilty booking a lunch on a Sunday at L’Enclume and gave him the option to veto it. He was game and we did a little pre-lunch hike and had ambitions of walking or hiking post lunch and even brought a change of clothes and all in the car for that.

After some windy narrow country driving and getting moderately lost we got there and were warmly welcomed by the staff. We sat at a cute table in the main dining room which has rough stone walls and wood beams on the ceiling and enviously eyed the conservatory area which is bright and gorgeous (slightly more modern and overlooking a small garden). Despite the two Michelin stars, the setting is casual and most customers were wearing jeans – very relaxed and cozy. As soon as one of the conservatory tables freed up, we rapidly begged to move…..

L'Enclume Review

We relaxed with some UK bubbly from Sussex (never tried before) and pondered if we should go for the six or 20 course menus. My original plan was six as this was about Stewart but surprisingly he chose to go for the long menu – “when are we going to be here again and experience it? Let’s do it!”

The staff is young, passionate and lovely. James, the sommelier who ends up helping with a lot of other tasks has been working there for two years and was absolutely brilliant in his very creative picks for our wine pairing. We chose to split one tasting which includes eight wines between the two of us (£60) as Stewart was driving.

What we ate:

The meal stars with several amazingly creative but also delicious snacks:

Oyster pebbles: this is one of Simon Rogan’s signature dishes. They make grey little snacks that look lick rocks and are served in a bed of the real stones but these ones are edible and delicious. A mix of a meringue and a macaroon in texture but very savory with a  slight oceany taste and with a  light but rich cream in the middle. They are served with oyster leaves that bring out the oyster flavors even more.

L'Enclume Review

Oxtail dumplings: when I saw this dish I said it looked like it would be my favorite one but I was wrong.  It was still a tasty dumpling with meaty oxtail but  thankfully what was to come would be better. How much would it suck if second snack was the best and it went downhill instead a crescendo….???

L'Enclume Review

Squid ink cracker with chicken liver mousse, chicken cracklings and redcurrant jam: this was served at the same time as the dumplings and I thought I would like it less – wrong again. Thin and beautiful “crackers” full of flavor with lovely and light chicken mousse and adorned with sweet jam and to make it complete….salty and crunchy chicken skin (which makes all dishes complete in my book).

L'Enclume Review

Smoked eel croquettes with pork belly inside and coated in onion soup: the broth was solidified with tapioca flour and then fried and enveloped the pig belly (as they call it in the UK). Seems odd but explodes in your mouth and is insanely good. The eel taste is very mellow and the pork comes through with richness and fattiness– creative, complex and perfectly fried. Absolutely amazing.

L'Enclume Review

Raw scallops with caviar and cauliflower puree: maybe because it followed the croquettes it seemed too light and not as tasty. Still delicate but didn’t blow our minds like the previous ones.

L'Enclume Review

Pea and crab sack: stack of a very light pea mousse layered on top of little bright green peas with pea oil and hiding under little slivers of delicate crab meat. Very light and summery but deeper and more complex as you reached the green peas in oil at the bottom.

L'Enclume Review

Creamed celeriac with lamb’s tongue and Tunworth cheese (http://www.hampshirecheeses.co.uk/tunworth-cheese.asp): this was the opposite of the crab dish and immediately transported us into fall. It was one of the richest but most amazing dishes as the celeriac cubes were mixed with the lamb’s tongue (meaty, tender and delicious) and with the cheese in between melding all the flavors together. On top of it was black truffle powder which coated every bite. Happiness in a little pot. So good!!!

L'Enclume Review

Creamed celeriac with lamb’s tongue and Tunworth cheese

Yummy warm bread with whipped pork fat and delicious butter.

L'Enclume Review

White turnip with maran egg and edible flowers: on the bowl we first got the turnips and the yolk which had a brilliant texture (heavier than custard but lighter than a traditional hard boiled yolk). They then poured a light creamy soup that blended it all together. Amazing how it could be creamy and rich but delicate and complex at once. At this point we couldn’t have been happier to pick the 20 course menu as we would have missed so much otherwise!

L'Enclume Review

Venison tartare with charcoal oil, mustard mayo, spring onions and candied gin fennel: This dish has been on the menu for four years and never changes as they think it’s prefect– and we couldn’t agree more. The charcoal oil gives the illusion the meat is not raw (as your nose smells barbecue) but the cubes are perfectly red and gorgeous. The mayo is fantastic with the mustard and adds richness to the otherwise lean meat ( and we usually are not mayo people) . Even the spring onions from the garden were a perfect addition. The candied fennel was sweet and burst in our mouths. Delicious and the wine pairing was perfect.

L'Enclume Review

Lobster + langoustines: on top we had a thin cracker with raw glazed langoustines, scurvy grass and hazelnuts  –  a bit sweet for our palate. We were told to eat the raw first before opening the pot to discover true happiness. The waiter complimented us for being very well behaved as we didn’t peak until they came to unveil what what is the pot underneath. Wow. We were both blown away by this dish. The little chunks of lobster were enveloped by a light and rich lobster zabaione (aka sabayon) and carrot puree with dusted black pudding crumbs on top that tasted meaty and rich. One of the best dishes!

L'Enclume review

Artichokes with goat cheese: small batons of very tender Jerusalem artichoke served with goat cheese mousse, tarragon and reduced artichoke jus  – all dusted with malt powder. I liked it better than Stewart did but I am an artichoke fanatic. The fried little artichokes sticking out were perfectly crispy and packed a burst of artichoke flavor.

L'Enclume Review

Grilled plaice with cucumber, juniper , dill and cockles: the fish was one of the most beautiful little pieces of fish ever, white and delicate and so tender. The grilling of the cucumber made them more interesting and complex and the leaves around the plate brought it all together (borage and some others we didn’t recognize). The sauce was very delicate and rich with some cockles around the plate.

L'Enclume Review

Duck + duck: fall flavors again with duck breast (I found them slightly chewy but I am not a duck expert) and rich and deliciously fried duck sweetbreads served with mushrooms and beets. I liked all but the breast and loved the sweetcorn puree.

L'Enclume Review

And then desserts note plural…) started rolling….

Rye, stout and gingerbread: Delicious way to start the transition to sweets  with little rye crisps topped with a creamy and unusual combination of stout and gingerbread dollops – unusual but great.

L'Enclume Review

This was served with a little pot with gooseberry granite on top of yoghurt and anise hyssop. I am not an anise person but the flavors all worked perfectly together and it was light, fresh and a great palate cleanser.

Sea buckthorne and blackberry mousse(s): the sea buckthorne one was expanded with liquid nitrogen according to our waiter and placed on top of blackberry mousse. We didn’t love this and even left a bit. But what would you expect from a mousse made of shrubs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hippophae), not even L’Enclume magic worked.

L'Enclume Review

Blueberry ice cream with sheep’s milk pearls and milk crisp: the ice-cream was thick,  creamy and delicious and served alongside the sheep’s milk pearls which were created with liquid nitrogen. Everything was then hidden by a dehydrated milk crisp that added a fun crunchy texture to the dish. Our waiter said this was one of the most technical dishes because of the milk pebbles and milk crisp and the techniques involved in making both.

L'Enclume Review

Meadowsweet, plum, walnut and sorrel: doesn’t sound like a good dessert does it? The meadowsweet (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Filipendula_ulmaria) mousse was a bit more solid and served with plum pieces and plum puree and also a sorrel sauce that was absolutely fantastic. It was surprisingly delicious.

L'Enclume Review

I usually want desserts with chocolate, PB and/or caramel but these were perfect after the 16 courses we had before as they weren’t too heavy.

Miniature ice cream cones of different flavors: apple, blueberry and sweet cheese and pineapple with pear cream and all served with a a L’Enclume iced tea.

L'Enclume Review

And we thought we were finished and they brought a special birthday treat for the birthday boy. Cake who? This is so much better.

L'Enclume Review

Debating the cheese cart even after 20 courses, admiring the silverware and birthday treat!

And as petit four a malt tuile with malt mousse and frozen raspberries: last little nibble, and one of Stewart’s favourites. Light mousse on crispy tuile and with frozen raspberries on top.

L'Enclume review

And then we went for a little tour of the L’Enclume kitchen but since we were the last ones there, it was a bit quiet….

L'Enclume kitchen

In Sum: L’Enclumeis PERFECT!

  • They serve food you actually want to eat again and again and tell everyone to go!
  • The staff is so nice you want to be friends with them: they are low-key and knowledgeable but not pretentious at all (unlike other Michelin star restaurants).
  • If you don’t like an ingredient, they adapt and are flexible (we didn’t but asked…).
  • The only reason they probably don’t have three stars is because the ambiance is relaxed and devoid of the usual white table cloths and honestly, who cares for all that.

Fat Duck who? L’Elnclume is so much better!

L’Enclume http://www.lenclume.co.uk/sr/restaurant.html

Cavendish Street, Cartmel Cumbria, LA11 6PZ

+4415395 36362

 [mappress “width=99%” mapid=”109″]

L'Enclume on Urbanspoon

The Breakdown

22 Comments

  • Reply February 20, 2015

    Lesley Pittaway

    I have been dying to get a weekend away here! But you have to book so far in advance and prior planning is not my forte. Eep! One day!

  • Reply October 18, 2015

    Food Expectations

    […] L’Enclume Review […]

  • Reply June 19, 2022

    yeezy

    I precisely desired to thank you very much yet again. I do not know the things I would have implemented without the type of opinions documented by you about that field. It had become a very challenging case in my circumstances, but understanding your specialized fashion you treated the issue took me to cry with gladness. Now i am thankful for this information and in addition pray you recognize what a great job that you are providing training others with the aid of your blog post. I am certain you haven’t met any of us.

  • Thank you so much for providing individuals with such a marvellous opportunity to check tips from this blog. It’s usually so ideal and as well , full of a good time for me and my office co-workers to search your site at a minimum three times weekly to find out the latest guides you have. Of course, we are always happy for the extraordinary tactics you serve. Selected 2 facts in this article are indeed the finest I have had.

  • Reply June 21, 2022

    golden goose

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with an extremely superb possiblity to check tips from this site. It’s usually so useful and packed with a great time for me and my office peers to visit your website a minimum of thrice in one week to study the latest tips you will have. And definitely, I am just always contented with all the awesome secrets you give. Some two tips in this post are undoubtedly the most impressive I have ever had.

  • Reply June 21, 2022

    off white outlet

    I am commenting to make you understand what a great discovery our princess went through visiting your blog. She came to find a lot of details, with the inclusion of what it is like to possess an incredible giving spirit to let men and women without hassle comprehend specified impossible things. You undoubtedly exceeded her desires. Thanks for supplying those great, dependable, edifying and in addition unique thoughts on that topic to Julie.

  • Reply June 21, 2022

    off white nike

    I want to get across my appreciation for your kind-heartedness supporting persons who absolutely need guidance on your area. Your personal commitment to passing the message around became pretty functional and has without exception permitted ladies like me to reach their targets. This important report means a great deal a person like me and further more to my fellow workers. Best wishes; from everyone of us.

  • Reply June 23, 2022

    kobe shoes

    I simply desired to say thanks all over again. I am not sure the things I would’ve achieved without the hints documented by you concerning my question. It had become a real scary condition for me, nevertheless taking a look at a new specialised fashion you solved it made me to leap with gladness. I’m just happier for the work and hope that you find out what a powerful job that you are accomplishing teaching most people via your webblog. I am certain you’ve never come across any of us.

  • Reply June 23, 2022

    hermes handbags

    I must express thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this type of setting. As a result of looking out throughout the online world and coming across notions which are not powerful, I figured my life was gone. Existing without the strategies to the difficulties you have fixed as a result of this posting is a crucial case, and the kind that might have badly affected my career if I had not come across your blog. Your personal capability and kindness in handling all the pieces was crucial. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a point like this. I am able to now look forward to my future. Thank you very much for the specialized and sensible guide. I will not hesitate to endorse the blog to anyone who will need counselling about this situation.

  • Reply June 23, 2022

    off white clothing

    I am only commenting to make you be aware of of the impressive encounter my friend’s girl developed studying yuor web blog. She figured out lots of details, which include what it’s like to have an incredible teaching mood to get a number of people very easily learn several advanced things. You really did more than my expectations. Thank you for coming up with those insightful, healthy, explanatory not to mention cool thoughts on that topic to Julie.

  • Reply June 23, 2022

    kobe byrant shoes

    I truly wanted to construct a brief word to be able to express gratitude to you for some of the splendid tips and tricks you are showing here. My considerable internet investigation has now been honored with incredibly good know-how to share with my relatives. I would assert that we website visitors actually are undeniably blessed to dwell in a very good site with so many awesome professionals with great solutions. I feel rather happy to have used your weblog and look forward to really more brilliant times reading here. Thank you once more for a lot of things.

  • Reply June 23, 2022

    adidas yeezy

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone a very marvellous chance to read from this web site. It’s usually very brilliant and stuffed with amusement for me and my office fellow workers to visit the blog no less than three times in one week to read the newest issues you have. And definitely, I am just usually pleased with the astonishing secrets you serve. Certain 4 ideas in this post are ultimately the most impressive I’ve ever had.

  • Reply June 26, 2022

    golden goose shoes

    My husband and i were so joyous that Edward could do his preliminary research using the ideas he made from your very own site. It is now and again perplexing to simply always be releasing strategies which usually other people might have been selling. And we fully grasp we have got the blog owner to thank because of that. All the illustrations you have made, the easy web site menu, the relationships you can assist to create – it’s got all excellent, and it is helping our son and our family understand the theme is interesting, which is pretty mandatory. Thanks for everything!

  • Reply June 26, 2022

    supreme shirt

    I actually wanted to write a small remark to be able to express gratitude to you for all the stunning guidelines you are giving at this website. My particularly long internet investigation has now been compensated with beneficial knowledge to exchange with my pals. I would claim that many of us website visitors are quite endowed to dwell in a wonderful network with very many awesome individuals with helpful pointers. I feel truly blessed to have used your weblog and look forward to so many more awesome moments reading here. Thanks once more for a lot of things.

  • Reply June 26, 2022

    hermes belts

    My wife and i were quite relieved Edward could finish up his survey through your precious recommendations he had through your weblog. It’s not at all simplistic just to choose to be freely giving instructions which men and women might have been making money from. We really understand we have you to appreciate because of that. The explanations you’ve made, the simple website navigation, the relationships you will assist to create – it is many astonishing, and it’s leading our son in addition to our family do think the subject matter is exciting, which is certainly exceptionally mandatory. Thanks for the whole lot!

  • I just wanted to compose a small remark to be able to express gratitude to you for all the wonderful tips you are placing at this website. My prolonged internet research has now been rewarded with sensible facts and strategies to go over with my companions. I ‘d claim that we readers are very blessed to exist in a remarkable place with many wonderful people with interesting advice. I feel truly grateful to have encountered your website and look forward to many more amazing moments reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

  • Reply June 27, 2022

    supreme clothing

    I happen to be writing to make you understand what a excellent encounter my cousin’s daughter obtained reading through your blog. She mastered several details, including what it is like to possess a marvelous helping style to get other people clearly thoroughly grasp selected grueling subject matter. You truly exceeded my expectations. I appreciate you for presenting such necessary, safe, informative and in addition unique tips about your topic to Kate.

  • Reply June 27, 2022

    off white outlet

    I precisely desired to say thanks all over again. I do not know what I might have carried out without those thoughts documented by you relating to such theme. It seemed to be a frightening issue in my opinion, nevertheless viewing the skilled approach you managed the issue made me to weep over happiness. I’m just happier for this service and as well , hope that you know what an amazing job you’re putting in teaching some other people by way of a site. I’m certain you’ve never encountered all of us.

  • Reply June 29, 2022

    supreme clothing

    I in addition to my friends were actually reading through the best tricks from your web blog and before long came up with a horrible feeling I never expressed respect to the web site owner for those techniques. Those ladies were definitely thrilled to read through all of them and have absolutely been having fun with those things. Appreciate your genuinely quite accommodating and for deciding on this sort of nice things most people are really eager to understand about. My personal honest regret for not expressing gratitude to you earlier.

  • Reply June 29, 2022

    cheap jordans

    I wish to express appreciation to this writer just for rescuing me from such a circumstance. Because of looking out throughout the search engines and obtaining recommendations which are not pleasant, I was thinking my life was gone. Existing without the solutions to the issues you have fixed by means of your post is a critical case, as well as the ones that could have badly damaged my career if I had not discovered your web site. Your personal talents and kindness in touching all the things was valuable. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t encountered such a subject like this. I can also at this point look forward to my future. Thanks a lot very much for your impressive and results-oriented guide. I won’t be reluctant to recommend your web site to anyone who needs and wants counselling about this situation.

  • Reply June 30, 2022

    kevin durant shoes

    I am just commenting to let you understand of the great encounter my cousin’s princess developed checking your web page. She discovered a wide variety of things, which include what it is like to have an incredible giving spirit to let many people easily understand a variety of complicated subject areas. You actually did more than our own expectations. I appreciate you for showing those informative, dependable, informative not to mention cool tips about this topic to Ethel.

  • Reply June 30, 2022

    jordan shoes

    A lot of thanks for your entire labor on this web page. My mother enjoys participating in internet research and it is easy to see why. Almost all notice all regarding the dynamic way you provide important secrets via your website and even foster response from other ones about this issue plus our girl is truly understanding a lot of things. Take advantage of the rest of the year. Your doing a fabulous job.

Leave a Reply